All You Need to Know About Kapha, Vata and Pitta

Do you ever sit down and think about what defines you? What are some of the attributes you possess and what makes you different from the rest of the people in the world? For example, you might find that certain situations make you deeply anxious while others can sail through them with ease. Or perhaps you radiate calmness and like to take your time making decisions while your partner or a friend is always on the go and quick in their actions and decisions. Ayurveda explains the reason for these differences between people.

What is Ayurveda?

Yoga, Meditation, Guru, Swami, Monk, Spiritual, India
Yoga, Meditation, Guru, Swami, Monk, Spiritual, India
One of the most ancient medical systems to exist today, Ayurveda has based on the concept that every individual reflects three different energies, also known as Doshas. These energies affect each one of our body functions; from extracting nutrients from the food, we eat to the way our brain processes information.  The three Doshas – namely Kapha, Vata, and Pitta – are present in each of us but varying quantities. Some people may have Vata as the predominant Dosha, while others may have high levels of Pitta. The unique combination of Doshas present in every human being is what makes one person different from another.  The Doshas must be in balance for an individual’s emotional and physical well-being. To achieve this balance, you must first understand your Dosha. 

The Three Doshas


Comprising of the elements of Water and Earth, this Dosha is the energy that ensures cohesiveness within the body. Kapha is the fluid that ‘sticks’ – it is the lubrication and structure the body needs to keep it all together and ensure the smooth flow of all its functions. Kapha influences love, attachment, and compassion, while it also protects the joints and tissues and keeps the body hydrated.