Third Test preview: Sri Lanka v India

With Ravindra Jadeja banned Ashwin will be bidding to reel his teammate and number two Test bowler James Anderson in with a top performance in the final Test.

Key Players

Kusal Mendis has shown that he can resist the India bowlers and even attack when necessary, if he can provide Sri Lanka a platform they may stand a fighting chance.

Lakshan Sandakan is a bowler who could cause trouble for India’s accomplished batsmen and the hosts will be hoping he can recapture his debut form.

Pujara has been a pillar of consistency and you feel his big runs are now expected and needed to build India’s innings.

Ashwin is likely to prove the difference between the two sides and his march to smashing records looks set to roll on.


Sri Lanka squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Upul Tharanga, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Lahiru Thirimanne, Dhananjaya de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella (wk), Dilruwan Perera, Lahiru Kumara, Vishwa Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Gamage, Lakshan Sandakan, Malinda Pushpakumara

India XI (Likely): Lokesh Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav.

Last five Head-to-Head-results

2017 Second Test: India won by an innings and 53 runs at the Sinhalese Sports Club

2017 First Test: India won by 304 runs in Galle

2015 Third Test: India won by 117 runs at the Sinhalese Sports Club

2015 Second Test: India won by 278 runs at the Premadasa stadium

2015 First Test: Sri Lanka won by 63 runs in Galle


August 12-16

10am start (4:30GMT) , Lunch 12.00-12.40, Tea 14.40-15.00, Close 17.00

Umpires: Rod Tucker and Richard Illingworth

TV Umpire: Bruce Oxenford 

Match Referee: Richie Richardson