Sharks unchanged for Waratahs

The Sharks have stuck with the team that did duty against the Brumbies last week, naming an unchanged matchday 23 to take on the visiting Waratahs at Kings Park on Saturday.

Keeping faith in last week’s team that snatched victory when a draw seemed likely, head coach Robert du Preez has decided against tinkering with his side.

Du Preez is maintaining the same line-up for consecutive weeks to forge already blossoming partnerships. The pack and its units – the front row, tight five and loose forward trio – are putting in spirited performances, while the backline is finding its feet nicely.

There are no injures to the side either.

Sharks outside centre Lukhanyo Am, who scored the match-winning try last week, says this one is all about the fans.

“It’s our first home game and we’d like to do it for the fans,” he said.

Sharks: 15 Clement Poitrenaud, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie (c), 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jean- Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Ruan Botha, 4 Stephan Lewies, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Jeremy Ward, 23 Curwin Bosch

Date: Saturday, March 11
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 19:30 local (17:30 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Egon Seconds (South Africa), Stuart Berry (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

Go to Source