Lions unchanged for Sharks

Lions head coach Johan Ackermann has named an unchanged starting line-up for their clash against the Sharks in Johannesburg on Saturday.

Springbok number eight Warren Whiteley leads the side from number eight and he is joined in the back row by Ruan Ackermann and Jaco Kriel while Franco Mostert and Andries Ferreira are the starting locks.

Malcolm Marx packs down at hooker alongside props Ruan Dreyer and Jacques van Rooyen with Springboks duo Faf de Klerk and Elton Jantjies the starting halfbacks.

Rohan Janse van Rensburg and Harold Vorster continue as the midfield combination while Madosh Tambwe and Courtnall Skosan line up on the wings with Andries Coetzee at full-back.

The replacements bench has not been finalised and there are a few players bracketed. This will be confirmed during the team’s press conference on Thursday.

Players not considered due to injury are Jaco van der Walt, Ruan Combrinck and Howard Mnisi and Dylan Smith. Sylvian Mahuza’s father passed away last week and he will attend the funeral this week.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Harold Vorster, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Ruan Ackermann, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen 
Replacments: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Sti Sithole/Corne Fourie, 18 Johannes Jonker/Hencus van Wyk, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Jacques Nel, 23 Dillon Smit/Lionel Mapoe

Date: Saturday, April 1
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17:15 local (15:15 GMT)
Referee: tbc
Assistant Referees: tbc
TMO: tbc

Go to Source