Lions stick with winning formula

The Lions have named an unchanged matchday 23 for their Super Rugby final against the Crusaders in Johannesburg on Saturday.

On the back of a come-from-behind 44-29 victory over the Hurricanes in the semi-final, it is no surprise Johan Ackermann has stuck with the same squad as they look to win a Super Rugby title in his swansong season.

Jaco Kriel continues to captain the side in the absence of Warren Whiteley and he is again joined by Kwagga Smith and Ruan Ackermann in the back-row, with Franco Mostert and Andries Ferreira the lock partnership.

Ross Cronje and Elton Jantjies will control from half-back while Harold Vorster continues to keep Rohan Janse van Rensburg on the bench.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Ruan Ackermann, 7 Kwagga Smith, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen
Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 23 Sylvian Mahuza

Date: Saturday, August 5
Venue: Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 16:00 local (14:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Glen Jackson, Marius van der Westhuizen
TMO: Marius Jonker

Go to Source