Five Proteas included in World XI

The Pakistan Cricket Board have announced the 14-member World XI squad which comprises players from seven Test playing countries and will be captained by South Africa’s Faf du Plessis. 

The World XI will play three Twenty20 Internationals for the Independence Cup against Pakistan under lights at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on 12, 13 and 15 September.

The World XI includes five players from South Africa, three from Australia, two from the West Indies, and one each from Bangladesh, England, New Zealand and Sri Lanka.

Apart from du Plessis, who is South Africa’s Test captain, the World XI also includes England’s ICC World Twenty20 2010 winning captain Paul Collingwood, who scored 108* off 68 balls in a T20 Blast game against Worcester in July; Windies’ Darren Sammy, who inspired his side to ICC World Twenty20 titles in 2012 and 2016; former number-one ranked Test batsman Hashim Amla; Bangladesh’s explosive opener Tamim Iqbal; Australia’s former ODI and T20I captain George Bailey; David Miller of South Africa, who is considered as one of the best finishers in modern day cricket, as well as T20I specialist Grant Elliott, who famously steered New Zealand to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 final with a last-ball six against South Africa in Auckland.

The World XI for the Independence Cup is:

    Faf du Plessis (captain) (South Africa)

    Hashim Amla (South Africa)

    Samuel Badree (Windies)

    George Bailey (Australia)

    Paul Collingwood (England)

    Ben Cutting (Australia)

    Grant Elliott (New Zealand)

    Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh)

    David Miller (South Africa)

    Morne Morkel (South Africa)

    Tim Paine (wicketkeeper) (Australia)

    Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)

    Imran Tahir (South Africa)

    Darren Sammy (Windies)

Former Zimbabwe captain and ex-England coach Andy Flower will be the coach of the side, which will arrive in Lahore on 11 September after attending a two-day camp in Dubai.