FAZ Super League increased to 20 teams

The Zambian Super Division is set to be expanded from 18 to 20 clubs for the 2017 season, with relegated Lusaka Dynamos and Nakambala both reinstated.

The league has been scheduled to kick off on April 1, with champions Zanaco set to host Red Arrows in their season opener.

Lusaka Dynamos CEO Simataa Simataa confirmed that his club are to participate in the top flight once more, just a few months after they had been demoted to the second tier.

“We are in the Super Division, Week One Lusaka Dynamos vs Power Dynamos, Week Two Nkwazi vs Lusaka Dynamos,” he told Soka25east.

Two clubs will be relegated at the end of the season.

Speaking to the Daily Nations earlier this year, Lusaka-based Soccer Analyst, Derick Lukwesa said the addition of more clubs would be a positive initiative.

“The expansion of the MTN/FAZ Super Division to 20 teams will give an opportunity for more clubs from different parts of the country to take part in the FAZ Super division, It will also bring competition in the league as more clubs will be able to fight for the trophy,” Lukwesa said.

Go to Source