England, All Blacks clash confirmed for 2018

England will play world champions New Zealand for the first time since 2014 as their Tests for the 2018 end-of-year series were confirmed. 

Eddie Jones’ side will play four Tests in next season’s series at Twickenham Stadium against South Africa (3 November), New Zealand (10 November), Japan (17 November) and Australia (24 November). 

All matches will be broadcast live on television with kick off times to be confirmed at a later date.

England will host South Africa in the first match of the campaign following a three-Test series against the Springboks in June 2018. 

England will then face the All Blacks for the first time in four years. In 2014, England lost four times to the All Blacks including a three-Test series in New Zealand and they last beat New Zealand in 2012, defeating the number one side in the world 38-21 at Twickenham. 

The Test against Japan (17 November) will be only the second time in history the two sides have played each other. The only previous meeting between the two nations was at the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1987 when England secured a comfortable 60-7 victory over the Brave Blossoms in Sydney.

In the fourth Test of the autumn, England will face Australia who have lost their last four matches against Jones’ side. 

“Our ambition is to be the number one team in the world going into the 2019 Rugby World Cup in Japan,” Jones told England Rugby.

“The 2018 Old Mutual Wealth Series is incredibly important for England as we build towards the Rugby World Cup in 2019.

“We want to win that series 4-0 and we will need to play extremely well to beat four very good teams over a four-week period.

“The series will give us a really good indicator of where we are as a squad, a year out from the Rugby World Cup, and gives us a real focus on what we have to do over the next 12 months to be ready for that series and win.