Decisive Davies lands Lausitzring double

Chaz Davies secured his second double victory of the season as second-placed Jonathan Rea extended his World Championship lead to 70 points.

Davies clinched victory in Race 1 on Saturday and followed up with another maximum points haul 24 hours later at the Lausitzring by beating Rea by 2.2 seconds.

Marco Melandri finished third, but Tom Sykes lost further ground in the World Championship scrap after limping home in fourth, 14 seconds adrift of Davies.

Davies made the pass on Rea at half distance and kept a steady one-second gap before Rea settled for second and another 20 points in his pursuit of the World Championship.

Rea weaved his way majestically through the field after starting on the third row, rising to third on lap one, second on lap two and then going on to overtake Melandri at Turn 10 to take the race lead.

However, Rea was in Davies’ crosshairs all the way, but he had to make hard work of Xavi Fores before he could launch his attack for the lead.

Davies then began to set lap records, zooming past Melandri on lap 8 and then threading his way under Rea at Turn Four.

From there, Davies managed the gap well and went on to clinch a sixth race win of the season.

Meanwhile, it was another race to forget for Sykes, who left himself with far too much work to do after getting embroiled in a midfield scrap with Fores, Camier and Savadori.

Sykes managed to salvage his afternoon a little, passing Camier for fifth just before the chequered flag.

Race 2 leaderboard

1  Chaz Davies     Ducati     34’05.220     

2   Jonathan Rea     Kawasaki   34’07.510     2.290

3    Marco Melandri     Ducati    34’09.608     4.388

4     Tom Sykes     Kawasaki     34’19.387     14.167

5     Alex Lowes     Yamaha      34’21.006     15.786

6     Leon Camier     MV Agusta    34’21.243     16.023

7    Lorenzo Savadori     Aprilia   34’21.358     16.138

8    Jordi Torres     BMW               34’22.120     16.900

9     Markus Reiterberger     BMW     34’25.575     20.355

10   Xavi Fores     Ducati     34’29.286     24.066

11    Michael van der Mark     Yamaha     34’30.105     24.885

12   Leandro Mercado     Aprilia     34’40.786     35.566

13    Stefan Bradl     Honda     34’41.992     36.772

14    Roman Ramos     Kawasaki     34’43.728     38.508

15    Raffaele De Rosa     BMW     34’44.833     39.613

16   Ondrej Jezek     Kawasaki     35’05.964     1’00.744

17   Davide Giugliano     Honda     35’06.621     1’01.401

18    Ayrton Badovini     Kawasaki     35’06.751     1’01.531

19    Massimo Roccoli     Yamaha     35’32.862     1’27.642

Ret   Randy Krummenacher     Kawasaki    

Ret   Riccardo Russo     Yamaha    

Ret    Pawel Szkopek     Yamaha    

Ret   Eugene Laverty     Aprilia

Go to Source