Blitzboks crowned Sevens Champs

South Africa’s Sevens team on Sunday were officially crowned the 2016/17 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series champions, a win Blitzoks captain Philip Snyman  said was “one for the country, one for the fans”.
South Africa clinched the title with their win at the penultimate tournament at the Paris Sevens last week, but were officially crowned at the London Sevens.
South Africa failed to make it to the semi-finals at London, but did enough to beat Australia in the fifth spot playoff, to end their season with a win.
The Blitzboks had a good run during the 2016/17 series, making all 10 tournament quarterfinals and losing only two, winning all eight of the semi-finals they were involved in, and winning five out of their eight finals.
They were winners at the Dubai, Wellington, Sydney, Las Vegas and Paris tournaments.
Snyman dedicated the win to the Blitzboks’ fans.
“We are proudly South Africans today and very proud champions. This one is for the country and for all our fans, especially those who watched us or listened to us play either late at night or early in the morning, when we were playing all over the world. We received massive support, even when things did not go as planned. This was a huge effort and I am a very proud South African and Springbok Sevens player tonight,” Snyman said.
The South Africans were crowned overall champions for only the second time, after winning the 2008/09 series.
Coach Neil Powell also made history by becoming the first person to win the overall championship as a player and as a coach.
The final top five standings of the 2016/17 standings are:
1. South Africa 192
2. England 164
3. Fiji 150
4. New Zealand 137
5. USA 129

Go to Source