Best Plant-Based Vegan Meal Replacement Shakes Buying Guide

Meal replacement shakes can be a valuable addition to almost any diet. And as long as you’re okay with eating animal-sourced foods, you’ve a nice variety of meal replacements to choose from. But what if you’re a vegan and prefer to have your entire diet consist of plant-based foods only? If that’s your case, chances are you already know that decent vegan meal replacement supplements are few and far between. Luckily, though, finding a plant-based meal replacement that will work for you isn’t rocket science either. And our guide will cover these and what you need to know to make the choice.

Why Not Just Use a Regular Meal Replacement Supplement?

The majority of people who consume meal replacements don’t care for the contents of their supplements. Most care about nothing else but the flavor. Some may also consider the calories and the nutrients that they’re getting. And only the rare few pay any attention to the ingredients involved. If you’ve been following a plant-based diet, chances are you know how important it is to choose what you eat. And in all likelihood, you closely monitor the contents of your food. There’s no reason why you can’t apply the same approach to meal replacement supplements. In fact, you should. Regular meal replacements derive protein from animal sources like whey, casein, egg, and beef. They may also come with such animal-sourced ingredients as gelatin. Since meal replacements with these components have cornered the market, vegans are hard pressed to find plant-based alternatives.

What Meal Replacement Supplements Can Be Called Vegan?

Though plant-based meal replacement supplements aren’t nearly as abundant as their animal-sourced alternatives, they are still available on the market. And if you keep a few things in mind, you can easily tell if a meal replacement supplement is vegan-friendly.