Baxter names Bafana 18 to face Nigeria

Bafana Bafana coach Stuart Baxter has named his 18-man squad to face Nigeria in Saturday’s crucial 2019 AFCON qualifier in Uyo.

South Africa missed the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations after failing to qualify and they will no doubt hope to get their qualifying campaign off to a good start this time around.

Nigeria, who also missed the last AFCON as well, prepared for the Bafana game with a routine 3-0 win over Togo last weekend.

Thulani Hlatshwayo has been named his nation’s captain and will partner Erick Mathoho in the heart of defence. Meanwhile, Tokelo Rantie will lead the attack on his return to the side, while Dean Furman partners Bongani Zungu in central midfield.

Starting XI: Khune, Mphahlele, Langerman, Mathoho, Hlatshwayo (c), Furman, Zungu, Zwane, Dolly, Vilakazi, Rantie.

Substitutes: Keet, Jali, Tau, Mabunda, Gordinho, Manyama, Mobara

Go to Source