Bafana’s COSAFA squad named

Bafana Bafana’s squad to take part in the upcoming COSAFA Cup has been announced, with largely less heralded names making up the list.

Bafana coach Stuart Baxter had earlier promised to give some younger stars the chance to shine, with many of those named coming from the South Africa U20 squad.

The tournament, which takes place from June 25 until 9 July, will see Bafana advance straight to the quarter-final stage. Baxter’s men will face the winner of Group A which features Tanzania, Malawi, Mauritius or Angola.

Notable names in the selection include Kaizer Chiefs’ Lorenzo Gordino as well as Cape Town City’s Aubrey Ngoma. SuperSport United’s Mario Booysen is another player picked and he will no doubt bring some experience to a youthful set-up.

Here is Bafana’s provisional COSAFA squad:


Darren Johnson (Ajax Cape Town)

Bruce Bvuma (Kaizer Chiefs)

Baolefa Pule (SuperSport United)


Thendo Mukumela (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Sandile Mthethwa (Orlando Pirates)

Mothobi Mvala (Highlands Park)

Mario Booysen (SuperSport United)

Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates)

Innocent Maela (Thanda Royal Zulu)

Lorenzo Gordinho (Kaizer Chiefs)


Thabo Cele (Real Clubbe FC)

Lebogang Maboe (Maritzburg United)

Sibongakonke Mbatha (Bidvest Wits)

Nduduzo Sibiya (Golden Arrows)

Mandla Masango (SuperSport United)

Lehlohonolo Masalesa (Larrissa)

Lebogang Phiri (EA Guingamp)

Aubrey Ngoma (Cape Town City)


Liam Jordan (Sporting Lisbon)

Judas Moseamedi (Cape Town City)

Go to Source